Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)

The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL) is a 'hands-on' option for students 15 years and over.

VCAL is a recognised senior secondary qualification which has three levels - Foundation, Intermediate and Senior. The VCAL focuses on 'hands-on learning' developing skills 'real world' employment skills.

Senior VCAL is an alternative to VCE Unit 3 & 4 (Year 12) subjects while Intermediate and Foundation are the formative years leading to Senior.

The VCAL's flexibility enables students to design a study program that suits their interests and learning needs. Students select accredited curriculum components from core VCAL units Vocational Education and Training (VET) qualifications, Further Education (FE) and VCE studies. There are four compulsory strands in VCAL:

  • Literacy and Numeracy Skills
  • Work Related Skills
  • Industry Specific Skills
  • Personal Development Skills